Niger LG polls: PDP wins one of 25 seats

1 min read

From Mathew Jwantu, Minna.

The All Progressive Congress Party, APC, has won 22 out of 25 seats in last Saturday’s Niger State Local Government Chairmanship elections.

The party won in Bosso, Bida, Magama, Kontagora, Rafi, Suleja, Paikoro, Shiroro, Wushishi, Rijau, Edati, Katcha, Mokwa, Agaie, Mariga, Lavun, Lapai, Gurara, Munya, Agwara, Borgu and Chanchaga Local Government Areas.

The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, only won Gbako LGA seat.

Nine political parties fielded 85 chairmanship, and 661 councillorship candidates for the polls.

The elections in seven wards in Shiroro, Chanchaga, Bida and Rafi LGAs were cancelled for various irregularities, said the Chairman, Niger State Independent Electoral Commission NSIEC, Alhaji Aminu Baba.

Results from Mashegu and Tafa Lacal Government areas had yet to be submitted, Baba added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2019. MK-Reporters Network.