Minna Engineers reelect first female Chairperson

2 min read

From Mathew Jwantu, Minna

The Minna branch of the Nigeria Society of Engineers (NSE) has reelected its first female Chairperson, Engineer Elizabeth Jumoke Eterigho for a second term.

The election was conducted during the NSE 2020 Conference and Annual General Meeting of the Minna branch, Friday.

Other elected officials include the Vice Chairman, Engineer Muhammadu Masin Muhammadu, Engineer Mohammed Liman Yerima as Secretary, Engineer Abubakar Danjuma as Financial Secretary, Engineer Abubakar Sadiq as Technical Secretary and Engineer Hadiza Danyaya as the Financial Secretary.

Others are, Engineer Solomon Ibrahim as the Publicity Secretary, Engineer Omotoso Oladipo as the Assistant Technical Secretary and Engineer Mohammed Ndaliman as the Ex-official I and Engineer Hauwa Gimba as Ex-official II.

Four new members were inducted into the Society at the conference.

In her address, the Chairperson, Engineer Elizabeth Jumoke Eterigho appreciated the support of the members to the programmes and activities executed during her first term of two years.

She stated that although a lot of the activities have been halted by COVID-19, there are plans, alternative plans were being drawn.

In a paper titled, “The training and practice of engineering: using post-COVID-19 opportunity to resolve the incongruencies,” the 8th Chairman of the Branch, Professor Oladiran Abubakre said the post-COVID-19 era will require drastic changes in the ways engineering practice and engineering education is handled.

Abubakre stated that there will be need for life-long learning and continuous professional development which will require the use of less contactless protocols.

“Simulations experience must also be encouraged in the new era and these will present the student with real life experiences in a simulated environment,” he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © 2019. MK-Reporters Network.