Breaking News: President Buhari Appoints New Service Chiefs

1 min read

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of new Service Chiefs, a Presidential press statement says.

The President accepted the “immediate” resignation of the outgoing Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

Those involved, according to a statement by Femi Adeshina, the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

President Buhari, the statement says thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for their “overwhelming achievements” in bringing enduring peace to the country, wishing them well in their future endeavours.

The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

The statement says the President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2019. MK-Reporters Network.